Because More is More

More Deals, More Stuff, More Savings, More Peace of Mind

Olson’s Food Emporium Closing October 13, 2010

Filed under: Coupons,Eco Friendly,Organic — Heather @ 12:54 pm

I’m so sad about this, but Olson’s Food Emporium on the Mukilteo Speedway is closing in mid November. Right now, everything in the store is 25% off. They have a great wine department, gift section, & tons of organic & eco friendly products. If you live in the area, it’s definitely worth checking out…especially if you pair the discount with coupons.

I loved that store, but given the economy, it’s not entirely surprising. However, I’m totally going to try & score some deals!

 

5 Responses to “Olson’s Food Emporium Closing”

  1. Bob Says:

    I hear ya, it’s a great loss.

    I discovered this store when I first moved to Snohomish County over twenty years ago. During those years I have lived in Mukilteo, Everett, Lynnwood, and now back to Mukilteo, always with Olson’s as a kind of hub (albeit not intentionally). I loved their deli, and their selection of organic and hard to find foods was better than any other place I know of.

    I guess all good things do come to an end, but this store deserved a longer shelf life. I’ll miss it, and all the friendly folks who worked there.

  2. Heather Says:

    Bob, I totally agree. I love that store & you’re correct; the employees there are some of the most friendly I’ve encountered anywhere. With this economy, I think it’s just too difficult for independent businesses to make it….especially ones with higher ticket items. I will be very sad to drive by & see it dark. 😦

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I have shopped at this store for over 15 years. Even though I moved from Mukilteo to Snohomish, I still continued patronizing the store because of their specialty items, i.e. deli, organics, organic meats, wines, gift shop, and specialty European deserts. I had come to know the staff by their first names and always enjoyed the atmosphere, i.e. more personal friendly service. I was sad to hear of the store closing, saddened that one more family owned business could not survive in this economy, and saddened that 75 employees will loose their jobs and their work “family”. How sad for everyone…customers, employees, etc. It makes one wonder where this county is headed?

    • Heather Says:

      Suzanne, I agree. It is so sad to see so many independent businesses going under now. While I love Target as much as the next person, I try & spend my money at small businesses because I do believe where we spend our money makes a difference. But with this economy, it just seems too much for some retailers.

      I went into Food Emporium yesterday & bought a ton of organic food products & eco friendly cleaning supplies. I got massive deals on it all. But as I was paying I said to the clerk, “I love the deals but I would love for the store to still be around even more.” She just smiled & said “Me too.”

      It will be very, very sad when they close for the last time.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Heather I am with you. Ususally I am thrilled to find a good sale, but not this time. Yes, my panty is brimming with boxes, cans, and bottles of organic products that I can’t find anywhere else and, yes it was all 25% off, and I too have stocked up on eco friendly products but when I checked out and the clerk told me I saved $50 and I looked at her knowing she had taken care of me for 15 years, and then looked over and saw the faces of the other staff members who I know by their first names, I just started to cry. The clerk gave me a big hug, handed me a white rose and reassured me it would be alright. But I knew it wouldn’t be….there would be no more shopping for Thanksgiving dinner there, or Christmas dinner, or finding those cute ornaments from the mercentile, or those speical sauces for my dinners, or the one-of-a-kind flower arrangements for the table and no more Dana give me a big smile asking how I was doing today as she rang up my purchases, or Lois ordering my wine for the holidays, or Charlie bagging my groceries and telling me on the way out “it was so nice to see you my special lady…good so see you as always.” No it wouldn’t be alright, because I won’t be able to find such outstanding customer service like this again. It wouldn’t be alright because another little slice of America will die when they shut their doors for the last time.

    As I walked out the store I noticed the sign on the wall “Don’t cry because it is over, smile because it happened.” I find it difficult to smile right now.


Leave a Reply

